The short answer

This site does not build an interactive map, and does not embed one. Three independent projects already do that work, and each of them is better at it than a text page can be. What this page does instead is the one thing none of the three does for itself: it puts their coverage side by side, names the class of source behind each row, and records what 1.0 changed on them.

A ledger of the three projects

Every cell below is read from the project's own page on 2026-09-17. Where a project does not publish something, the cell says "Not published" — that is a statement about the page, not about the project.

ProjectMapsWhat the page holdsLocation count publishedLast updatedSource class
MapGenieOne map, AshenfallSix guide sections — Primary Quests, Chests, Lore Scraps, Secondary Quests, Dragonkin Vaults, RecipesNot publishedNot stated on the pageThird-party tool
MetaforgeOne map with three layers — Surface, Dowdun, UndergroundFilters, Routes, Heatmap, Found Items and Settings panels over one Ashenfall mapNot publishedMap tiles carry the 1.0 date, 15 September 2026Third-party tool
th.gl (The Hidden Gaming Lair)One map, AshenfallLocation database plus four browsable databases — Items, Equipment, Recipes, Enemies40,432 locations15 September 2026Third-party tool

Swipe the table sideways to read every column

Reconciliation — the three projects do not count the same thing

Only one of the three publishes a coverage total, so a like-for-like comparison is not available. Printing "40,432 locations" next to two blanks and calling it a comparison would be the mistake; the honest version is the table below.

ProjectCoverage it publishesWhat that number counts
MapGenieNothingThe page lists one map and six guide sections and gives no marker total. A guide section is a curated route, not a marker count.
MetaforgeNothingThe page exposes three map layers and four filter groups and gives no marker total. The layer count is a structure, not a coverage figure.
th.gl40,432 locations across 1 mapThe project's own headline figure for markers placed on its Ashenfall map. It counts its own markers, not the game's objects.

The three projects also disagree about vocabulary rather than about facts: the same underground area appears as a Metaforge layer named "Underground", as a region name (Dowdun) in the game's own fast-travel language, and as part of the single th.gl Ashenfall map. Nothing here merges those three labels into one, because no source equates them.

What 1.0 changed on the maps

The th.gl project keeps a dated update page, and its 15 September 2026 entry lists exactly what the full release moved. Read as published:

  • New map art. The Ashenfall map now uses the 1.0 world map image.
  • Dragon Gate. The entrance to the Scorned Wilderness raid appears as a new "Raid Entrance" filter under Locations. The project states plainly that the raid itself is an instanced area with no map, so its interior is not shown.
  • Twelve new monster filters for creatures and mini-bosses 1.0 placed in the open world — for example Garou Exile, Blazing Black Knight, Goblin Thug, Stormpact Demon and Wildcaller Druid.
  • One rename. The Umbral Sands quest red dragon is now named "The Radiant", matching the game. A filter left on the old name will not show it.
  • New entries. A new vault door and dungeon entrance are on the map.
  • Database growth. Items moved from 402 to 671, Equipment from 277 to 491, Recipes from 469 to 838 and Enemies from 54 to 154. The project attributes the increase to the expansion packages — the Rune and Dragon gear and Kuldra's rewards from 1.0, plus the Umbral Sands and Dowdun Reach content that was missing before.
  • Icon fixes. Loot chests, buried chests, spectral chests and buried coffins now use the game's chest icon.

Two earlier entries on the same page are worth carrying forward, because they explain markers that moved before 1.0. On 3 September 2026 the Nodestone — the Dowdun Reach fast-travel network — was added as 18 locations, described as separate from the overworld Lodestones. On 30 July 2026, in the 0.12.1 update, six Agility time-trial courses were mapped with their in-game names and the Agility level each needs, 19 Kebbit burrow shortcuts got their own layer, Kebbit spawn points rose from 54 to 102, Doctor Fenkenstrain was marked in Bloodblight Swamp alongside three buried coffins, a Tier 7 loot chest and 28 new NPCs were added, and Lesser Blue Dragon was renamed Blue Dragon.

The Metaforge map's 1.0 work is documented by its own maintainer in a r/RSDragonwilds post, two days old when this site read it. Its list adds detail the th.gl notes do not carry: the new Scorned Wilderness area, the new Regicide quest, Ruinite Ore, Luminite Ore, Magic Trees and Crystallised Animas, plus more lore notes, treasure chests, fishing spots, sanguine urns and enemies. The post's edit adds that the database and the other tools were updated at the same time. The post links back to the Metaforge map, so these are the same project speaking twice rather than two sources agreeing.

Which project answers which question

The three overlap heavily on a single Ashenfall map and diverge on the parts around it. Read as a routing table, not as a ranking.

The questionWhere it is answered
Where is one specific resource, chest or enemy?th.gl publishes per-type filters, and its four databases are browsable by name.
Which quests are left, and in what order?MapGenie carries curated guide sections for primary and secondary quests, chests, lore scraps, Dragonkin Vaults and recipes.
Where does the underground sit, and how does Dowdun connect?Metaforge is the only one of the three that exposes separate Surface, Dowdun and Underground layers on the same map.
What is actually in a region, in prose?The beginner guide on this site, and the region material on the armour page.
Where do the armour sets come from?The armour page, which names the vault each set's recipes come from.
What did the game change, and when?The release timeline, and the update pages each project keeps.

What none of the three is

  • Not first-party. None of the 57 bodies fetched for this batch is a Jagex map or an official-wiki map. Every map project on this page is a third-party tool, and none is presented as authoritative about the game's layout.
  • Not a coverage guarantee. Only th.gl publishes a date for its own coverage; MapGenie's page carries no date at all, and Metaforge's carries one only inside its tile URLs. A map that does not state when it was last updated cannot be read as current.
  • Not a player count. No map project publishes live player numbers, and this site publishes no player-count curve for anything — see about this guide.
  • Not a substitute for the game's own fast-travel. The Nodestone network, the Lodestones and the world map are game features; the projects mark where things are, not where you can travel from.

Markers that moved, and one that is off the map entirely

Three renames and one structural exclusion explain most of the "my marker disappeared" reports around a version change, and all four are stated by the projects themselves:

  • The Radiant — the Umbral Sands quest red dragon, renamed at 1.0 from "Red Dragon".
  • Blue Dragon — renamed at 0.12.1 from "Lesser Blue Dragon".
  • The Dragon Gate raid — the entrance is a marker, but the raid is an instanced area and has no map inside it.
  • Old filters — th.gl's own note says a filter still set to a previous name will not show the marker, so the filter has to be re-enabled under the current name.