The short answer: there is no aggregate score, because a post-1.0 one does not exist yet
The 1.0 release landed on 15 September 2026. At the time of this check, on 2026-09-17, no aggregate review score for the full release had been published that we could find, and none of the bodies fetched for this site is an aggregator page. So this page prints no aggregate number, offers no star rating of its own, and does not average the sources below into one figure. A made-up summary score would be the least useful thing on the page.
What we can print is: four press scores, all from the Early Access period, and the current storefront figures, each with a date and a sample size.
Press scores — and the build they were given for
Every score below appears in the Wikipedia reception section and was given during Early Access, not for the 15 September 2026 release. That single caveat matters more than the scores do, because the launch build changed combat, animations, base loading and more.
| Outlet | Score or verdict | Build reviewed | Platform reviewed |
|---|---|---|---|
| GamingBible | 7/10 | Early Access | Not stated in the source |
| IGN Benelux | 6.5/10 | Early Access | Not stated in the source |
| Forbes | Positive | Early Access | Not stated in the source |
| PCGamesN | Mixed to negative | Early Access | Not stated in the source |
Two honest limits on that table. First, the platforms are not stated in the material we read, so we do not guess them — a survival crafting game can read very differently on a controller than on mouse and keyboard, and we will not invent which was used. Second, the Wikipedia reception section summarises these verdicts rather than reproducing the full reviews, so we print them as recorded verdicts and not as quotations.
Player figures — each with its date and sample
These move. Every number below is a snapshot with the moment it was read attached, and we do not present any of them as a stable score.
| Source | Figure | Sample | Captured |
|---|---|---|---|
| Steam — recent reviews | Mostly Positive, 76% | 1,231 reviews | 2026-09-17 |
| Steam — English-language reviews | Very Positive, 82% | 22,922 reviews | 2026-09-17 |
| Steam — all languages | 30,333 total: 24,631 positive, 5,702 negative | 30,333 reviews | 2026-09-17 |
| PlayStation Store | 4.54 out of five stars | "2.3K ratings" and "2397 ratings" — two figures on the same page | 2026-09-17 |
| Xbox store | 439 ratings, no average published on the page | 439 ratings | 2026-09-17 |
The Steam figures sit on two different bases, and we do not mix them. The store page's headline rating — the one shown next to the game on Steam — is calculated only from accounts that bought the game on Steam, and that base is smaller than the all-languages total. The two are separate populations on the same page, so this site never converts one into the other, never averages them, and never presents a percentage from one base next to a count from the other. The recent-review and English-language rows above are the store's own labelled samples; the all-languages row is the wider count. Each carries the moment it was read.
The PlayStation figure deserves its own note. The same store page shows the rating twice, once as "4.54 average rating … from 2.3K ratings" and once as "4.54 … from 2397 ratings". We print both rather than choosing one. 2.3K and 2397 are compatible — 2397 rounds to 2.4K, not 2.3K, so the two counts were almost certainly rendered at different moments — but "almost certainly" is not a reason to drop one of them. Neither figure tells you which platform or region the ratings came from, and the store page does not say.
The reception split, in players' own words
The community sample breaks roughly along the same lines as the press sample, and the disagreements are worth reading rather than resolving.
What players consistently praise
- The skill and magic systems. The recurring theme in positive posts is that tying rune magic to gathering is something other survival games do not do, and that the skill list lands hard for anyone who grew up with RuneScape.
- Value. Multiple posts point out that it is a $29.99 game with a steady update cadence rather than a subscription.
- Base building. The snapping and the see-through placement preview are called out as unusually easy to use.
- The art direction and soundtrack, repeatedly, including by players who are otherwise negative.
What players consistently criticise
- Combat feel. The most common complaint in the sample is that hits do not register with weight, and that attacks commit you to an animation you cannot cancel. Note that Jagex's own reply in the same thread acknowledges a combat overhaul at 1.0, so posts written before 15 September describe a build that no longer exists.
- Repetition across regions. A long, specific post in the community sample argues that enemies and plants repeat across zones with new names and colours, that armour tiers differ cosmetically, and that quests are fetch-shaped.
- Inventory and quality-of-life friction. Sorting, hauling and tool swapping recur.
- Traversal. Long runs between points of interest, with mounts that unlock late.
- Fishing. Named by more than one player as the slowest skill to level.
Value: the two readings, stated rather than scored
The case for buying now. It is a one-time $29.99 purchase with no subscription, it launched on all four platforms at once, crossplay lets you play with friends wherever they are, the update cadence through Early Access was steady, and the launch build addressed several of the loudest complaints from the Early Access reviews above.
The case for waiting. Every press score on this page was given for a build that is no longer current, the player sample is split, the loudest criticism in the community sample is about combat feel and world repetition rather than about polish, and no post-1.0 aggregate exists yet to tell you which way the launch build moved the average.
We do not pick a side. The page's job is to make sure that when you do pick one, you know which build each piece of evidence came from and how big each sample is.
What this page does not claim
We do not print a Metacritic score, a launch-window player count, or a completion-time estimate. We do not state that the launch build fixed any specific complaint — Jagex's reply in the community thread says a combat overhaul was coming at 1.0, which is an announcement about intent, and the reviews we can read post-date it by only three days. And we do not treat any single community post as representative: the posts below are individual accounts with dates attached.